FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions [or the fun stuff]

Personal

Where were you born: Chicago, IL

How many countries have you lived in: Six!

University: Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine (in Indiana)

What do you do?: I am a licensed Veterinary Nurse boarded in Equine Medicine. It is like the animal equivalent of being an RN but I only work on horses! 

Do you have any pets: We have one female Rottweiler named Denali. She is named after my favorite mountain range in Alaska. 

Favorite animal: the majestic moose! And horses 🙂

Why do you move so much: My husband is in the US Navy. 

Triathlon

How many races have you done: Ten

Favorite distance: 70.3 is for me! Its the perfect combination of getting out of your comfort zone and not being completely broken the next day. 

Favorite Race: Rev3 Williamsburg has a great super fast course. Ironman 70.3 Steehlead will hold a special place in my heart since it was my first half and taught me so much. 

Favorite leg vs strongest leg: My favorite leg is the swim – i feel like such a beast when I’m battling it out amongst the other athletes. My strongest leg is typically the run barring any cramping / blister issues. 

What do you do to help with cramping: Infinit nutrition is an amazing company that lets you customize your own nutrition. You choose how many calories you want, how many carbs, protein, amino acids, salts, etc. There are lots of flavors to choose from and the taste is great! You also get to name it and save your blend so you can easily reorder!

What do you eat on the bike: I use Honey Stinger waffles and chews on the bike. Mentally I like to feel like I’m eating something real. The waffles taste like a little treat for all my hard work!

What do you eat on the run: Eating on the run is very hard for me. I usually carry some Gu Energy Labs gels (Salted Watermelon is my fave!) but I will typically only take one or two in on the entire 13.1 mi run. 

How do you recover after a hard race: I put on some compression socks and drink a large bottle of Vega Sport Recovery. Ever since I started using Recovery I have noticed I am not as sore and it takes me less days to recover.  

What kind of bike do you ride: Giant Avail 2 road bike

What is your dream race destination: I have a couple dream races including: Dubai, Hawaii, Whistler, Costa Rica, Island House, and back home in the UK

Rev3 Williamsburg \ 2016